More female cops expected shortly

National, News

MANILA – There seems to be more policewomen in the Philippine National Police (PNP) service.

Earlier, PNP spokesman, PCol. Bernard Banac said they have already rationalized and modified traditional troop ceilings for women and other gender restrictions in recruitment and selection to provide all equal opportunities in filling up vacant positions.

“As far as the recruitment and selection process is concerned, the PNP is 100-percent compliant with the requirements of law in terms of gender equality and empowerment of women,” he assured.

The PNP is understandably dominated by men, but Banac said women continue to take an increasing and  permanent foothold in the service. “The Women Police Service (WPS), traditionally delegated to auxiliary functions, has been deactivated and its women members have been integrated into the regular force alongside their male counterparts,” he added.

Banac said earlier 83.4 percent of then 180,767-strong PNP uniformed personnel were males, and only 6.6% were females, with women commissioned officers comprising 14% of the PNP Officers Corps assigned to various leadership positions.

The House of Representatives committee on public order and safety had earlier approved House Bill (HB) No. 6869 filed by Surigao del Sur Rep. Johnny Pimentel. The bill seeks to allot 20 percent of vacant Police Officer 1 positions for women, from the current 10 percent.

Pimentel explained that “besides giving women greater opportunity to join the PNP, our intention here is to push up the absolute number of female officers in the force over time. We want the PNP to achieve the ideal situation wherein female officers shall have exclusive supervision over women and children brought to police stations for custodial investigation,” he added.

The PNP has an annual recruitment quota of 10,000 for the position of Police Officer 1.

Pimentel’s co-authors of HB 8689 include Reps. Alexandria Gonzales (Mandaluyong City), Chiqui Roa-Puno (Antipolo City), Marlyn Alonte (Biliran), Ann Hofer (Zamboanga Sibugay), Victoria Isabel Noel (AN WARAY), Bernadette Herrera (BH), Vini Nola Ortega (ABONO), and Francisco Josef Matugas II (Surigao del Norte).

Leave a Reply